University of Portsmouth staff members nationally recognised for their outstanding impact on students and teaching

Two University of Portsmouth staff members have been nationally recognised this year in the National Teaching Fellowship Awards for their outstanding impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession in Higher Education. Achieving a National Teaching Fellowship is widely recognised within the UK and internationally as a mark of quality and is an extremely competitive process.

Dr Harriet Dunbar-Morris (Dean of Learning and Teaching) and Dr Andy Clegg (Senior Lecturer in Higher Education) have been awarded National Teaching Fellowships by Advance HE for a range of initiatives relating to making a difference to our students’ experience of Higher Education and championing Continuing Professional Development (CPD) and high quality curriculum design.

Around 50 Higher Education professionals across the country are awarded National Teaching Fellowships annually. Portsmouth has a high level of success and has now been awarded 4 National Teaching Fellowships in the past few years.

Professor Paul Hayes, Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor, said: ‘Congratulations to Harriet and Andy for their fellowships, recognising their outstanding impact on students and the teaching profession. These national awards are very well deserved. Providing high quality learning and development opportunities for our students and staff are integral to our mission to create, share and apply knowledge to make a difference to individuals and society. I’m delighted Harriet and Andy will be joining a growing number of nationally recognised teaching practitioners at our university.’

Dr Harriet Dunbar-Morris, Dean of Learning and Teaching

Harriet has been recognised for her authentic leadership approach which ensures shared personal and institutional values and objectives, and drawing people together to achieve institutional goals.

She has a track record of working with all members of our community in an inclusive and egalitarian way to determine where enhancements will most benefit the student experience and bringing people into projects to create the necessary positive changes. Her approach has been key to the success of many university-wide initiatives including the Curriculum 2019 project. She has also reframed the way in which the Student Experience Committee operates to drive a data-driven focus to prioritise and drive enhancements for the delivery of an excellent student experience.

Harriet provides internal support for any aspiring Principal Fellows through her convening of the Principal Fellows Network here at Portsmouth, and also nationally by co-convening the Aspiring Principal Fellow’s Network for Advance HE.

Harriet said: ‘Making a difference to students’ experience of higher education is a clear objective of mine. I am delighted that my work with colleagues at Portsmouth to enhance the experience of our students has been recognised.’

Dr Andy Clegg, Senior Lecturer in Higher Education, Department for Curriculum and Quality Enhancement (DCQE)

Andy plays a central role within our Academic Development department where he is leading a transformative programme of change for the Higher Education Academy Fellowship Scheme, APEX. This National Teaching Fellowship recognises Andy as an innovative educator who has succeeded in transforming many programmes of study by examining the departmental use of active blended learning, combining online and in-person learning.

Andy is a passionate mentor with a high level of industry experience which he brings to groups of teaching staff, supporting them to gain recognition for their work as leaders in Higher Education. Andy’s reach has extended far beyond his own institution through the wider circulation of high quality resources, designed to demystify the UK Professional Standards Framework which are now supporting Advance HE Accredited Programme Leaders Network for institutions across the UK.

Externally, Andy mentors and supports institutions, raising aspirations for teams and departments to excel in teaching and celebrate this publicly. His CPD sessions, including LEGO workshops have generated excitement across the sector and helped those who completed them bring an infectious enthusiasm for teaching and curriculum design.

Andy said: ‘To have your professional practice nationally recognised as making an outstanding impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession is amazing and somewhat overwhelming! I’m grateful to have had the fortunate opportunity to work with some inspirational mentors and colleagues throughout my career that have had a huge influence on shaping my professional practice that was recognised by AdvanceHE through the award of NTF.’

Four other members of staff currently at the University are also National Teaching Fellows:

  • Amy Barlow
  • Dr Stephen Corbett
  • Professor Jane Creaton
  • Professor Sherria Hoskins